Going to Extremes

I am enrollled in the Lights Film School program, and I’ve recently come across something amazing while going through the notes on screenwriting.

” The main character is going need motivation, which will drive them towards action in a quest to accomplish their goal”.

MOTIVATION – ACTION – GOAL = DIRECTION

Have you ever imagined your life as if you’re the main character in your own movie. Whenever I feel stagnate about something I remind myself of this and shift gears towards what makes me excited about life:  learning new skills, doing something I haven’t done before. Being comfortable being uncomfortable.

So what makes an intriguing main character?

1 Something Must be at Risk.

2 Motivation threatened by an oppressing force in order to create a sense of doubt

3 Must be challenging to achieve, sort of transformation takes place, through a series of obstacles.

I had a massive smile on my face when I read this. Without adventure what would be the point of living? But you say ” Don’t you know anything… films are designed to sell and please peoples fantasies, that doesn’t happen in real life you young naive moron!”  You’re probably right. Not everyone can be James Bond. But what if you really got up tomorrow and decided to live that way?

Zorba said it best, “Life is trouble, only death is not. To be alive you’ve got to undo your belt and look for trouble”.

0 Responses to “Going to Extremes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

